Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Available copies

  • 1 of 1 copy available at Wayne/Pike Local Consortium.

Current holds

0 current holds with 1 total copy.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Dingman Township Library F HEG (Text) 30352101309517 New Book Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781250156822
  • ISBN: 1250156823
  • Physical Description: 274 pages ; 25 cm
  • Edition: First edition.
  • Publisher: New York : Flatiron Books, 2020.

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.:
"From beloved bestselling author Ursula Hegi, a new novel about three mothers, set on the shores of the Nordsee, perfect for fans of Water for Elephants and The Light Between Oceans. In the summer of 1878, the Ludwig Zirkus has come to the island Nordstrand in Germany. Big-bellied girls rush from St. Margaret's Home for Pregnant Girls, thrilled to see the parade and the show, followed by the Sisters who care for them. The Old Women and Men, competing to be crowned as the island's Oldest Person, watch, thinking they have seen it all. But after the show, a Hundred-Year Wave roars from the Nordsee and claims three young children. Three mothers are on the beach when it happens: Lotte, whose children are lost; Sabine, a Zirkus seamstress with her grown daughter; and Tilli, still just a child herself, who will give birth later that day at St. Margaret's. And all three will end up helping each other more than they ever could have anticipated. As full of joy and beauty as it is of pain, and told with the luminous power that has made Ursula Hegi a beloved bestselling author for decades, The Patron Saint of Pregnant Girls is a shattering portrait of marriage and motherhood, and of the ways in which women hold each other up in the face of heartbreak"-- Provided by publisher.
Subject: Pregnant women > Fiction.
Mothers > Fiction.
Circus > Fiction.
Maternity homes > Fiction.
Ocean waves > Fiction.
Children > Death > Fiction.
Female friendship > Fiction.
Genre: Historical fiction.
Domestic fiction.
Patron Reviews:
Series:
Awards:
Similar Books:
Other Editions:

Additional Resources